My first time rendering tallow

You just cannot find tallow in the stores but, quite frankly, I don’t think that I would buy it from a store because it would undoubtly have some perservatives that I would object to.  I was able to get a sweet deal from a local beef farmer for some suet.  5 lbs for $2.50!  I rendered some in the oven and some on the stovetop in boiling water.  While the stovetop, boiling water method was more work, I think that I was able to render more fat from the suet.  I have a ton of tallow now and I doubt that I will be rendering more until the fall but I will do a better job of deciding which method I actually prefer then.

However, I did remember to take some pictures of the finished product.

I’m storing some of the tallow in the fridge and some in the freezer.  I am not storing it at room temperature because I am not 100% confident that I got out all of the little bits that might ruin the tallow if allowed to be at room temperature.

I’d love to hear from you.  Have you ever rendered tallow?  Which method do you prefer? How do you store your home-rendered tallow?

About thecrunchymamachronicles

I'm a woman obsessed with the amazing, everlasting, lavish, never-failing LOVE of the Heavenly Father through Jesus. It's my favorite thing to meditate on and to write about. His expression of love has radically transformed me from a joyless, miserable person to the me who is full of joy and love for others because of my radical identity as the beloved of God. I am devoted to my husband and to gently parenting our three boys with Jesus as my model of the ultimate gentle parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

